Seven Sorrows of Sophia: Day 2

Mater Dolorosa

Continuing our meditations on the Seven Sorrows of Sophia:

The Fall of Sophia
Sophia passes through the Limit of the Pleroma, and finds Herself in the darkness of the Chaos

℣. Incline unto my aid, O God;
℟. O Lord, make haste to help me.
℣. Glory Be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.
℟. As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, unto the æons of æons. Amen.

A reading from the thirty-second chapter of the Pistis Sophia.

“I gazed, O Light, into the lower parts and saw there a light. Thinking to myself: ‘I will go to that region, in order that I may take that light. And I went and found myself in the darkness which is in the chaos below, and I could no more speed thence and go to my region. And I cried for help, but my voice hath not reached out of the darkness. And I looked unto the height, that the Light, in which I had had faith, might help me.’”

Let us pray. I grieve with Thee, O Sophia most sorrowful, in the anguish of Thy most affectionate heart when Thou didst fall from the Region of the Light and found Thyself in chaos and utter darkness. Dearest Mother, by Thy heart so troubled, obtain for me even a fraction of the faith in the Light which Thou hast kept, that I may return unto the region of my inheritance. Amen.

Hail Sophia, filled with light, the Christ is with Thee. Blessed art Thou amongst the Æons, and blessed is the Liberator of Thy light, Jesus. Holy Sophia, Mother of all gods, pray to the Light for us, Thy children, now, and in the hour of our death. Amen.

℣. Pray for us, O Mother most sorrowful;
℟. That we may be made worthy of the promises of the Christ.

3 Comments

Filed under Rituals

3 responses to “Seven Sorrows of Sophia: Day 2

  1. Pingback: Seven Sorrows of Sophia: Day 3 | Gnostic Devotions

  2. tom

    Is there a way i can get a copy of these? Are they in the prayer book on amazon.com?

Leave a Reply

